Small, decentralized units can only participate in the balancing energy market as a bundle - because this requires an output of at least five MW and this must be available reliably and quickly. The Next Box makes this possible because it bundles the individual systems in the Next Pool and ensures that they are all centrally controllable like a single power plant. This also opens up the option of using generation plants and electricity consumers in line with electricity prices and thus for profit optimization.

Control system

The control system is the technological heart of the Next Pool virtual power plant and is completely managed by our own system engineers. This is where all the information comes together, which the next boxes of all units and the transmission system operators send to us via machine-to-machine communication (M2M). As soon as the data has arrived in the control system, it is re-authenticated by a router cluster with a firewall, decrypted and stored in the right place.

Data types:

The control system stores and processes all the data necessary to calculate the optimal timetables for electricity producers and consumers. For example:

  • Actual performance

  • Readiness of the system or the electricity consumer

  • Power band for control energy

  • Gas or heat storage

  • Actual temperature (e.g. in a cold store)

  • Water levels (e.g. with an industrial pump)

Control energy:

Using optimization algorithms that our system engineers have developed together with our cooperation partners, we write the timetables and feed them back into the control system. Based on this data, we know how much power is available in our virtual power plant and how much control energy we can offer. Our awarded balancing energy bids, the award results, must always be available in the Next Pool during the retention period.

A further optimization loop is constantly being carried out for this purpose: The control system validates all data from the individual systems by checking whether and with what capacity the systems are available. These values ​​are compared with the TSO setpoints. And finally, the optimization setpoints are sent to the individual systems via a communication interface via M2M mobile radio and SIM card, which adapt their performance accordingly.

Electricity price-oriented driving style:

The control system also makes it possible to operate systems based on electricity prices: on the basis of electricity price signals in intraday trading on the EPEX Spot electricity exchange, flexible power generators such as CHPs can be started and shut down with quarter-hour accuracy. These systems therefore only ever produce as much electricity as is currently required in the network. And flexible electricity consumers such as industrial pumps also use this mechanism to drive electricity-market-oriented, because they consume their electricity when it is particularly cheap and the overall demand is low. In this way, our control system can already help stabilize the power grid before the use of balancing energy is even necessary.

Solution powered by next power plants

Get to Know TEGINNOVA  Better
Your direct line to us:

Follow us

Help

Blog

​Contact

Disclaimer

Imprint

©2023 by Tecinnova International GmbH

0

Kleine dezentrale Einheiten können nur gebündelt am Regelenergiemarkt teilnehmen – denn hierfür ist eine Leistung von mindestens fünf MW erforderlich und diese muss zuverlässig und schnell abrufbar sein. Die Next Box macht das möglich, denn sie bündelt die Einzelanlagen im Next Pool und sorgt dafür, dass sie alle zentral steuerbar sind wie ein einziges Kraftwerk. So eröffnet sich auch die Option, Erzeugungsanlagen und Stromverbraucher strompreisorientiert und damit gewinnoptimiert einzusetzen.

Leitsystem

 

Das Leitsystem ist das technologische Herzstück des Virtuellen Kraftwerks Next Pool und wird vollständig von unseren eigenen Systemingenieuren verwaltet. Hier kommen alle Informationen zusammen, die die Next Boxen aller Einheiten und die Übertragungsnetzbetreiber via Machine-to-Machine-Kommunikation (M2M) an uns übermitteln. Sobald die Daten im Leitsystem angekommen sind, werden sie von einem Router-Cluster mit Firewall erneut authentifiziert, entschlüsselt und an der richtigen Stelle abgelegt. 

Datentypen:

Im Leitsystem werden alle Daten hinterlegt und verarbeitet, die nötig sind, um die optimalen Fahrpläne der Stromerzeuger und -verbraucher zu berechnen. Dies sind zum Beispiel:

  • Ist-Leistung

  • Bereitschaft der Anlage oder des Stromverbrauchers

  • Leistungsband für die Regelenergie

  • Gas- oder Wärmespeicher

  • Ist-Temperatur (z.B. bei einem Kühlhaus)

  • Wasserfüllstände (z.B. bei einer industriellen Pumpe)

Regelenergie:

Mit Optimierungs-Algorithmen, die unsere Systemingenieure gemeinsam mit unseren Kooperationspartnern entwickelt haben, schreiben wir die Fahrpläne und füttern sie zurück ins Leitsystem. Auf Basis dieser Daten wissen wir, wie viel Leistung in unserem Virtuellen Kraftwerk bereitsteht und wie viel Regelenergie wir anbieten können. Unsere bezuschlagten Regelenergiegebote, die Vergabeergebnisse, müssen während der Vorhaltungszeit stets im Next Pool bereitstehen. 

Hierzu wird permanent eine weitere Optimierungsschleife durchgeführt: Das Leitsystem validiert alle Daten aus den Einzelanlagen, indem es prüft, ob und mit welcher Leistung die Anlagen verfügbar sind. Diese Werte werden mit den ÜNB-Sollwerten abgeglichen. Und schließlich werden die Optimierungs-Sollwerte über eine Kommunikationsschnittstelle via M2M-Mobilfunk und SIM-Karte an die Einzelanlagen geschickt, die ihre Leistung entsprechend anpassen.

Strompreisorientierte Fahrweise:

Das Leitsystem ermöglicht auch eine strompreisorientierte Fahrweise von Anlagen: Auf der Basis von Strompreissignalen im Intraday-Handel der Strombörse EPEX Spot können flexible Stromerzeuger wie BHKWs viertelstundengenau hoch- und runtergefahren werden. Diese Anlagen produzieren also immer nur so viel Strom, wie gerade im Netz benötigt wird. Und auch flexible Stromverbraucher wie Industriepumpen fahren durch diesen Mechanismus strommarktorientiert, denn sie verbrauchen ihren Strom dann, wenn er besonders günstig und die Gesamtnachfrage niedrig ist. So kann unser Leitsystem bereits zur Stromnetzstabilisierung beitragen bevor der Einsatz von Regelenergie überhaupt nötig wird.

Lösung powered bei next-kraftwerke

Get to Know TEGINNOVA  Better

©2023 by Tecinnova International GmbH

0